Small Bird Photography

Small bird photography can be a challenge, as they are very fast when they are in flight and feeding.  I learned how to photograph small birds from the inside of my home to increase the number of quality photographs.

I moved the bird feeder close to the living room window and sat in a comfortable chair inside the house with my Canon DSLR and Canon 70-200mm F4L IS lens.  I have tried using the aperature priority settings on the camera and learned those are adequate once in a while.  After many photos turned out to be slightly out off focus or completely blurred, I switched to the sports setting and used the burst feature.  The lens was set to auto focus and image stabilizer was turned on. I handheld the camera as I was taking the photograph.

Here is the result of the changes I made in the camera settings:

A Dark Eyed Junco has some bird seed on the beak and underneath as it sits in front of a bird feeder near Plains, Montana.

A Dark Eyed Junco has some bird seed on the beak and underneath as it sits in front of a bird feeder near Plains, Montana.

The photo was cropped close to show the bird and the bird feeder in the background.

How often have you seen birds at the feeder and wanted to get close photographs of them?Would you like to see the birds from the comfort of your living room chair?   Have you considered moving your bird feeder closer to a window?

About Douglas Wilks Photography

I am an advanced photographer who lives in western Montana. I create a variety of strong images using a DSLR, computer, and digital software. I am available for hire for full time, part time, or projects. Most of my images are of landscapes, still life, and events. I am always looking to improve my skills, network of friends and professionals, and portfolio. I look forward to creating new friends, contacts, and others who are interested in photography.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

