Autumn Raindrops and Fall Leaf Photograph

The photo was a challenging one to create, as an October rain storm had just stopped. I was hiking in a wildlife viewing area that is on MT Highway 200 west of Plains, Montana. There is no clear trail into the area and I spent much of my time carefully walking over slippery rocks and wet grass. The sun was not out very long and I was going to need to use the flash on my camera. I set up my tripod and took several minutes to compose the image you see now. Over the last two years the photo sat on my computer in different cropped versions, none of them appealed to me. I decided to go back to the first and original crop, keeping the blurred background intact. The final photograph is one that I find very appealing and I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Autumn raindrops lightly dust a dfall leaf in Montana.

Autumn raindrops lightly dust a fall leaf in Montana.

Here is the information on what I used to create this photo: Canon Rebel XS, Canon 18-55mm IS Lens, one Velbon tripod.  (The EXIF data: 44mm, ISO 200, Auto white balance, 1/400, F5.0).

Do you think the leaf should be in the right third of the frame? Do you find the bright yellow in the background to be a help or a distraction to the leaf an overall composition?  How could the photograph be improved?

About Douglas Wilks Photography

I am an advanced photographer who lives in western Montana. I create a variety of strong images using a DSLR, computer, and digital software. I am available for hire for full time, part time, or projects. Most of my images are of landscapes, still life, and events. I am always looking to improve my skills, network of friends and professionals, and portfolio. I look forward to creating new friends, contacts, and others who are interested in photography.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

