Landscape Image and power lines

The almost hidden power pole in the landscape image.

I was out taking photographs of the ever changing sun and clouds over the landscape on January 10, 2012.  I found that in almost every direction I turned there were power lines interfering with the image I wanted.  I did finally manage to get a decent image of the hills and dramatic clouds with a power pole made of wood blending in nicely with the hills and almost hidden.  It takes a while to find the wood power pole (the pole is lower left in the above image).

The image took a while to create, as I had cars passing on the country road I stood next to and stirring up the dust near me, as well as the quickly changing weather (a snow storm was moving into the area).  What you see here is the result of about 30 minutes of patience and waiting for every variable to be just right.  Moments after this image was taken the snow and a very bitter wind opened up on me.  (Technical info: Canon Rebel XS, 18-55mm lens. Settings: Aperature Priority, ISO 100, lens set at 55mm, F9.5, Landscape, Cloudy, the camera was mounted on a tripod.)

About Douglas Wilks Photography

I am an advanced photographer who lives in western Montana. I create a variety of strong images using a DSLR, computer, and digital software. I am available for hire for full time, part time, or projects. Most of my images are of landscapes, still life, and events. I am always looking to improve my skills, network of friends and professionals, and portfolio. I look forward to creating new friends, contacts, and others who are interested in photography.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Landscape Image and power lines

  1. koolkikitty says:

    I love this image, very moody. Have you considered removing the wooden pole with photoshop? I know some photographers are purists about untouched photos, and I completely understand this.

    Informative reading, by the way.

    • koolkitty,
      Thank you for the comment about the image. I don’t have Photoshop, yet. At this time I will be using the blog to share some images and information. I don’t consider myself a purist and would like to learn and use software programs more.
      Thank you for the comment on the writing. More will be posted in the days ahead.

Leave a Reply

